GAA | Dublin lead the way with 12 All-Star nominations

GAA | Dublin lead the way with 12 All-Star nominations
Spread the love

All-Ireland champions Dublin lead the way in this year’s All-Star nominations with 12.

Tyrone, Galway, and Monaghan have all secured seven nominations apiece.

Kildare and Donegal both have three nominees, while Kerry have two.

Armagh, Carlow, Fermanagh, and Laois each have one player on the shortlist.

Three goalkeepers, 18 defenders, six midfielders, and 18 forwards have been nominated in total.

The shortlists for the Footballer of the Year and the Young Footballer of the Year awards have also been revealed.

Dublin trio Ciarán Kilkenny, Brian Fenton, and Jack McCaffrey have been nominated for the senior award, while Brian Howard (Dublin), David Clifford (Kerry), and Michael McKernan (Tyrone) have been shortlisted for the Young Footballer of the Year.

Kilkenny enjoyed a superb campaign for the Dubs, racking up 2-21 in six Championship games for Jim Gavin’s men.

Brian Fenton has yet to taste defeat in the Championship for the All-Ireland champions, and had another excellent year which has further cemented his place as the best midfielder in the country.

McCaffrey – returning from a cruciate injury – was back to his best for the Boys in Blue, and deservedly picked up the man of the match award in the All-Ireland final victory over Tyrone.

Brian Howard made a big impact for the Dubs this season, and his contribution has been recognized with a nomination for the Young Footballer of the Year.

He is joined on the list by Kerry teenage sensation David Clifford, who made a hugely impressive transition from minor star to the senior ranks.

20-year-old Tyrone defender Michael McKernan completes the list after a strong season for the Red Hand.

Stephen Cluxton – who has won five All-Stars to date – is joined by Laois shot stopper Graham Brody and Monaghan star Rory Beggan in the goalkeeper category.

Half of the 18 defenders listed come from either Dublin (five) or Tyrone (four).

Monaghan and Galway have three defenders apiece on the shortlist, while Donegal, Fermanagh, Kerry and Kildare have one representative each.

Carlow forward Paul Broderick has made the cut after his eye-catching performances, and Armagh attacker Rory Grugan is the county’s sole representative among the nominees.

The All-Star team will be revealed at a televised banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on November 2nd.

Here is the full list:

All-Star Football Nominations


1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Graham Brody (Laois)

3. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


1. Eoghan Bán Gallagher (Donegal)

2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

3. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

4. Eoin Murchan (Dublin)

5. James McCarthy (Dublin)

6.  Che Cullen (Fermanagh)

7. Sean Kelly (Galway)

8. Eoghan Kerin (Galway)

9.  Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Galway)

10. Gavin White (Kerry)

11. Eoin Doyle (Kildare)

12. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

13. Drew Wylie (Monaghan)

14. Ryan Wylie (Monaghan)

15. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

16.  Michael McKernan (Tyrone)

17. Tiernan McCann (Tyrone)

18. Peter Harte (Tyrone)


1. Michael Murphy (Donegal)

2. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

3. Thomas Flynn (Galway)

4. Niall Kearns (Monaghan)

5. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

6. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)


1. Rory Grugan (Armagh)

2. Paul Broderick (Carlow)

3. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

4. Niall Scully (Dublin)

5. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

6. Brian Howard (Dublin)

7. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

8. Dean Rock (Dublin)

9. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

10. Shane Walsh (Galway)

11. Damien Comer (Galway)

12. Ian Burke (Galway)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Daniel Flynn (Kildare)

15.  Paul Cribben (Kildare)

16. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

17. Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)

18. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Footballer of the Year Nominees

1. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

2. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

3. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Young Footballer of the Year Nominees

1. Brian Howard (Dublin)

2. David Clifford (Kerry)

3. Michael McKernan (Tyrone)


Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.