Ireland name XV to face All Blacks

Ireland name XV to face All Blacks
Spread the love

Joe Schmidt has named his starting XV to face New Zealand tomorrow in Dublin.

Ireland will be looking to replicate their historic 40-29 victory over the All Blacks a fortnight ago in Chicago.

Schmidt has made just one change from that historic game, with Sean O’Brien replacing the injured Jordi Murphy.

O’Brien impressed in last week’s comfortable win over Canada at the Aviva.

Ultan Dillane has been ruled out with an injury, and Paddy Jackson has replaced Joey Carbery as backup to Johnny Sexton.

Despite Keith Earls’ strong performance against Canada, he hasn’t made the matchsquad. Simon Zebo returns to the starting lineup, and Garry Ringrose’s performance last week has earned the 21 year old the number 23 shirt.


Ireland XV:

15. Rob Kearney

14. Andrew Trimble

13. Jared Payne

12. Robbie Henshaw

11. Simon Zebo

10. Johnny Sexton

9.  Conor Murray

1. Jack McGrath

2. Rory Best (capt)

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Donnacha Ryan

5. Devin Toner

6. CJ Stander

7. Sean O’Brien

8. Jamie Heaslip

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, I Henderson, Josh van der Flier, Kieran Marmion, Paddy Jackson, Garry Ringrose.

New Zealand: 15-Ben Smith, 14-Israel Dagg, 13-Malakai Fekitoa, 12-Anton Lienert-Brown, 11-Julian Savea, 10-Beauden Barrett, 9-Aaron Smith, 8-Kieran Read (captain), 7-Sam Cane, 6-Liam Squire, 5-Sam Whitelock, 4-Brodie Retallick, 3-Owen Franks, 2-Dane Coles, 1-Joe Moody


David Smith

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.