Keegan and Gleeson scoop All Star awards

Keegan and Gleeson scoop All Star awards
Spread the love

Lee Keegan scooped the 2016 Footballer of the Year award at last night’s GAA/GPA All Stars banquet.

The 27-year-old from Mayo picked up his fourth All Star award on the night, and beat Dublin duo Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian Fenton to the award, despite being on the losing side in the All Ireland final.

Diarmuid Connolly, who’s battles with Keegan have been well documented, was not shortlisted for the Footballer of the Year award, but did receive an All Star.

Keegan’s teammate Diarmuid O’Connor was awarded the Young Footballer of the Year award for the second year running, a feat which his older brother Cillian also managed.

Waterford hurler Austin Gleeson won both the All Star Hurler of the Year and the Young Hurler of the Year awards respectively.

Gleeson beat Tipperary’s Seamus Callanan – who scored 0-13 in this year’s All Ireland final – to the senior award.

Meath hurler Damien Healy was rewarded with the Christy Ring Cup Hurler of the Year for his fine performances during the Royals’ march to the trophy.


David Smith

One thought on “Keegan and Gleeson scoop All Star awards

Leave a Reply