GAA | Hurling All Star nominees revealed

GAA | Hurling All Star nominees revealed
Spread the love

The GAA have revealed their PwC All Star nominees, and Joe Canning is the only Galway hurler nominated for the Senior Hurler of the Year award.

Canning – who scored 10 points in the All-Ireland final – is joined by Waterford duo Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran on the list.

Canning’s Galway teammate Conor Whelan is on the shortlist for the Young Hurler of the Year alongside Cork’s Mark Coleman and Waterford’s Conor Gleeson.

There is no place on either shortlist for last year’s double winner Austin Gleeson, and Galway centre-back Gearóid Mcinerney hasn’t made the cut, despite being chosen as The Sunday Game hurler of the year.

Micheál Donoghue’s side, who won the Division 1 League, Leinster and Liam MacCarthy this season, have 12 nominations for the All Star XV.

Waterford have 11 nominations after their All-Ireland defeat, while Cork (8), Tipperary (5), Wexford (4), Kilkenny (2) and Clare make up the list.

The selections were chosen by a committe of GAA experts and analysts, chaired by GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail.

2017 was a strong year for hurling, which saw the All-Ireland final attract a peak audience of 1.1 million – making it the most watched RTÉ broadcast of 2017.

In the inaugaral minor All Star category, champions Galway (6) have one more nomination than beaten finalists Cork.

The awards ceremony will take place at Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 3rd.



Colm Callanan (Galway), Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford), Anthony Nash (Cork)

Daithí Burke (Galway), Gearóid McInerney (Galway), Padraic Maher (Tipperary), Padraig Mannion (Galway), Mark Coleman (Cork), Noel Connors (Waterford), Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford), Aidan Harte (Galway), Adrian Tuohey (Galway), Darragh Fives (Waterford), Diarmuid O’Keeffe(Wexford), Colm Spillane (Cork), John Hanbury (Galway), Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford), Damien Cahalane (Cork), Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny), Conor Gleeson (Waterford), Philip Mahony (Waterford)

Lee Chin (Wexford), David Burke (Galway), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Johnny Coen (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

Pauric Mahony (Waterford), Joe Canning (Galway), Conor Cooney (Galway), Joseph Cooney (Galway), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Patrick Horgan (Cork), John McGrath (Tipperary), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Alan Cadogan (Cork), Conor Whelan (Galway) Conor Lehane (Cork), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Cathal Mannion (Galway), TJ Reid (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), Shane O’Donnell (Clare), Conor McDonald (Wexford).

Leave a Reply