GAA | Galway and Waterford name teams for All-Ireland SHC final

GAA | Galway and Waterford name teams for All-Ireland SHC final
Spread the love

Galway and Waterford have named their starting teams for Sunday’s All-Ireland SHC final at Croke Park.

Micheál Donoghue has made one change to the Galway team which beat Tipperary in the semi-final, with Jonathan Glynn coming in to replace Niall Burke at wing forward, for his irst start of the 2017 championship.

The Déise have also made one change, with Tadhg de Búrca replacing Conor Gleeson, who was sent off in Waterford’s impressive victory over Cork in the semi-final. Gleeson’s absence means de Búrca – who was suspended for the semi-final – will slot in at wing back and Kieran Bennett will join Jamie Barron in midfield.

Galway haven’t lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup for 29 years, and Waterford’s last All-Ireland triumph came all the way back in 1959, and it is the first time that the pair have met in hurling’s biggest contest. The Leinster champions enter the game as favourites after an unbeaten Championship season, but Waterford have eliminated Kilkenny and Cork on their road to the final.

“This is a special day in our lives,” Waterford boss Derek McGrath told RTÉ.

“There’s a certain element of your approach where you say, ‘Jesus, the magnitude of this is fairly significant’. But I think that’s all balanced by your own family, your own routine.

“I’m looking forward to going back teaching. There’ll be a good buzz around the school. It’ll be exciting for everyone.”

“We’re fortunate that we have a group of men who are strong and athletic, naturally so,” Donoghue said.

“We’re dealing with a group that have a lot of experience.

“We keep saying to them that they have to keep drawing on both the good and the bad from the club and with the county.”

Ironically, Derek McGrath and Micheál Donoghue competed against each other in a minor final, and it was Donoghue’s Galway who came out on top that day.

The Galway minors will take on Cork in the MHC All-Ireland final before the senior final.

Throw-in is at 3.30pm.

Galway: Colm Callanan; Adrian Tuohy, Daithí Burke, John Hanbury; Padraic Mannion, Gearóid McInerney,  Aidan Harte; Johnny Coen, David Burke; Joseph Cooney, Joe Canning; Jonathan Glynn, Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney, Cathal Mannion

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Shane Fives, Barry Coughlan, Noel Connors; Tadhg de Burca, Austin Gleeson, Philip Mahony; Jamie Barron, Kieran Bennett; Kevin Moran, Pauric Mahony, Jake Dillon; Shane Bennett, Michael Walsh, Darragh Fives.

Leave a Reply