GAA All Stars | Canning and Moran honoured

GAA All Stars | Canning and Moran honoured
Spread the love

Andy Moran and Joe Canning have been named as the 2017 Footballer of the Year and the 2017 Hurler of the Year respectively at the PwC All Stars.

Moran, 34, beat Mayo teammate David Clarke, and Dublin duo Stephen Cluxton and James McCarthy to the award. The veteran forward scored 3-24 in the 2017 Championship, and was an inspirational figure in Mayo’s road to the All-Ireland final.

“It’s great to be here representing the team, but it was the team that got me here in the first place”, the Ballaghaderreen forward said upon accepting his award.

Canning, who scored 10 points in Galway’s All-Ireland hurling final victory over Waterford, beat  Waterford duo Jamie Barron and Kevin Moran to his accolade.

The talented Galway forward managed 46 points (10 from play) in Galway’s five Championship clashes, and the Portumna native also won his fourth All Star on the night to cap off a wonderful year.

The 29 year old paid tribute to Galway great Tony Keady, saying Micheál Donoghue’s team “carried him with us in September”.

Con O’Callaghan rounded off a stunning year by picking up the Young Footballer of the Year Award, beating off competition from Cork’s Seán Powter and Galway’s Michael Daly.

The 21 year old Cuala forward was a key player in Jim Gavin’s All-Ireland winning Dublin side this year, and has collected Club All-Ireland hurling, U21 football and All-Ireland senior football medals this season.

Galway forward Conor Whelan scooped the Young Hurler of the Year accolade, beating Waterford’s Conor Gleeson and Cork’s Mark Coleman to the award.

2017 Football All Stars

Three in a row All-Ireland champions Dublin have seven representatives on the 2017 Football All Star team of the year, one more than Mayo, while Kerry and Tyrone have one each.

David Clarke got the nod over Stephen Cluxton between the posts, and Chris Barrett (Mayo) picked up his first All Star at corner back in the team.

Dublin and Mayo had three defenders each in the side, with Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh and James McCarthy being selected at midfield.

Dean Rock, Aidan O’Shea, and Con O’Callaghan make up the half-forward line, while Paul Mannion, Paul Geaney (Kerry’s sole inclusion), and Andy Moran complete the team.


  1. David Clarke
  2. Chris Barrett
  3. Michael Fitzimons
  4. Keith Higgins
  5. Colm Boyle
  6. Cian O’Sullivan
  7. Jack McCaffrey
  8. Colm Cavanagh
  9. James McCarthy
  10. Dean Rock
  11. Aidan O’Shea
  12. Con O’Callaghan
  13. Paul Mannion
  14. Paul Geaney
  15. Andy Moran
2017 Hurling All Stars

Galway (seven) and Waterford (five) have won 12 of the 15 places available on the 2017 Hurling All Stars team.

Cork duo Mark Coleman and Patrick Horgan are also included, as is Tipperary defender Paudie Maher, who has won his fifth All Star.

Déise goalkeeper Stephen O’Keefe starts in goals, while Galway full-back Daithi Burke is joined by teammate Padraic Mannion and Noel Connors (Waterford) in the full-back line.

Galway centre back Gearoid McInerney is flanked by Tipp’s Padraic Maher and Cork’s Mark Coleman, and Jamie Barron and David Burke are named together at midfield for the second year running.

Kevin Moran and Michael ‘Brick Walsh’ start either side of centre forward Joe Canning, with Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney, and Patrick Horgan making up the full-forward line.


  1. Stephen O’Keeffe
  2. Padraic Mannion
  3. Daithi Burke
  4. Noel Connors
  5. Padraic Maher
  6. Gearoid McInerney
  7. Mark Coleman
  8. Jamie Barron
  9. David Burke
  10. Kevin Moran
  11. Joe Canning
  12. Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh
  13. Conor Whelan
  14. Conor Cooney
  15. Patrick Horgan

The Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard and Lory Meagher Champion 15’s were also announced, and can be found below:

CHRISTY RING CHAMPION 15: Enda Cooney (London), Paul Divilly (Kildare), Ger McManus (Mayo), Padraig Kelly (Roscommon), Eamonn Kearns (Wicklow), Andy O’Brien (Wicklow), Michael Hughes (Down), Eoghan Sands (Down), Chrissy O’Connell (Antrim), John Dillon (Antrim), Paddy Burke (Antrim), Alan Corcoran (Carlow), John Michael Nolan (Carlow), James Doyle (Carlow), Richard Coady (Carlow).

NICKEY RACKARD CHAMPION 15: Mike Lyons (Louth), Seamus Hannon (Longford), Davin Flynn (Donegal), Brendan Begley (Tyrone), Stephen Donnelly (Tyrone), Mark Treanor (Monaghan), Donal Megan (Monaghan), Artie McGuinness (Armagh), Nathan Curry (Armagh), John Corvan (Armagh), Brendan Rogers (Derry), Darragh McCloskey (Derry), Paul Cleary (Derry), Sean Cassidy (Derry), Gerald Bradley (Derry)

LORY MEAGHER CHAMPION 15: Damien Sheridan (Cavan), Matthew Hynes (Cavan), Sean Corrigan (Fermanagh), Shea Curran (Fermanagh), Kevin Banks (Sligo), Cormac Behan (Sligo), Ronan Crowley (Lancashire), Nathan Unwin (Lancashire), Conor Byrne (Leitrim),Liam Moreton (Leitrim), Clement Cunniffe (Leitrim), John Collins (Warwickshire), Dean Bruen (Warwickshire), Paul Uniacke (Warwickshire), Liam Watson (Warwickshire).

Leave a Reply