Football | Seven Premier League players nominated for the 2017 Ballon d’Or

Harry Kane, Philippe Coutinho, N’Golo Kanté, Kevin de Bruyne, Eden Hazard, Sadio Mané, and David de Gea have been shortlisted for the 2017 Ballon d’Or.

The 30-man shortlist has been released gradually over the day by France Football, and the award is now judged solely by a panel of journalists after FIFA and France Football ended their partnership in 2015.

Brazilian playmaker Kaka (2007) is the last player other than Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to win the award, and the former is this year’s favourite (1-33 with Sky Bet) to pick up the prestigious accolade.

Ronaldo – who beat Messi to the award last year – won the double with Real Madrid last season and enjoyed another sensational season personally with the Spanish giants, scoring twice in the Champions League final in the 4-1 win over Juventus.

Messi (14/1) finished last season as top scorer in La Liga with 37 goals, and has made a blistering start to this season.

Italian veteran ‘keeper Gianluigi Buffon is one of three goalkeepers shortlisted alongside de Gea and Atletico Madrid stopper Jan Oblak.

Kylian Mbappé, Neymar, Luis Suarez and Robert Lewandowski and former Manchester City striker Edin Dzeko also feature on the list. Neymar finished third in 2015 and fifth last year, but his former Barcelona teammate Luis Suarez has yet to make the top three.

Antoine Griezmann – who finished third last year – is also on the list, but Wales and Real Madrid star Gareth Bale misses out entirely.

Ballon d’Or 2017 shortlist

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  • Edinson Cavani (PSG)
  • Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
  • David de Gea (Man Utd)
  • Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  • Isco (Real Madrid)
  • Edin Dzeko (Roma)
  • Radamel Falcao (Monaco)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan)
  • Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid)
  • Dries Mertens (Napoli)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (PSG)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  • Luis Suarez (Barcelona)