Six Nations | Ringrose and Stander return to face France

Garry Ringrose and CJ Stander have been named in the Ireland team to face France.

Both players have returned from injury for the visit of Les Blues, with Joe Schmidt making seven changes from the team which beat Italy in Rome last time out.

Ringrose comes in for Chris Farrell to partner Bundee Aki in the centre, and Stander will slot into the back row.

Josh van der Flier will line out in the back row at the expense of Sean O’Brien, who misses out completely, with Jack Conan making the bench.

Captain Rory Best, Cian Healy, and James Ryan have all returned to the forwards, while Iain Henderson has also earned a start.

As expected, Sean Cronin has paid the price for his poor display against the Italians, and misses out on the panel entirely.

Quinn Roux has also been omitted, with Connacht’s Ultan Dillane preferred as backup.

He is joined by Jordan Larmour, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jack Conan, Dave Kilcoyne, Jack Carty, and John Cooney among the substitutes.

Joey Carbery or Robbie Henshaw haven’t recovered in time for the match, and Tadhg Beirne misses out due to a knock.

“Tadhg Beirne has been a little bit sore this week,” Schmidt explained. 

“He was in the mix but he’s going to get the weekend off [and] will come in back fresh next week. Ultan Dillane has played really well for us. The number of positive involvements he had was good.”

Meanwhile, Jacques Brunel is sticking with the same 15 that beat Scotland in Paris last time out.

France will travel to Dublin with the exact same squad of 23 which tasted victory against the Scots

.Ireland: Rob Kearney, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale, Johnny Sexton, Conor Murray; Cian Healy, Rory Best (C), Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, James Ryan, Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Ultan Dillane, Jack Conan, John Cooney, Jack Carty, Jordan Larmour.

France: Thomas Ramos; Damian Penaud, Mathieu Bastareaud, Gael Fickou, Yoann Huget; Romain Ntamack, Antoine Dupont; Jefferson Poirot, Guilhem Guirado (C), Demba Bamba; Sebastien Vahaamahina, Felix Lambey; Wenceslas Lauret, Arthur Iturria, Louis Picamoles.

Replacements: Camille Chat, Etienne Falgoux, Dorian Aldegheri, Paul Willemse, Gregory Alldritt, Baptiste Serin, Anthony Belleau, Maxime Medard.