Football | Messi wins record sixth Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi has won a record sixth Ballon d’Or, beating Virgil van Dijk to the 2019 award.

Messi was the top scorer in Europe last season as Barcelona won the domestic double in Spain, and was involved in 63 goals (46 goals, 17 assists) for club and country in 2019.

The Argentina captain has now won the trophy on more occasions than any other player in history, moving one clear of rival Cristiano Ronaldo, the only other player to have won more than three Ballon d’Or awards.

It is the first time in four years that Messi has won the award, having previously been honoured in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Liverpool centre back Van Dijk finished second on the list, ahead of Juventus star Ronaldo.

Reds duo Sadio Mane (fourth) and Mohamed Salah (fifth) completed the top five.

“I would like to thank all of the journalists who voted for me and wanted me to have this prize,” Messi said.

“Thank you so much to my colleagues who have actually contributed a lot to this prize. It is amazing, thank you so much.”

“It was an amazing year, but there’s a couple of players like that who are a bit unnatural,” van Dijk said. “So you need to respect greatness as well.”

Kylian Mbappe (sixth), Alisson (seventh), Robert Lewandowksi (eighth) and Man City duo Bernardo Silva (ninth) and Riyad Mahrez (10th) also finished in the top 10.

Raheem Sterling (12th), Kevin De Bruyne (14th), Sergio Aguero (16th), Roberto Firmino (17th), Trent Alexander-Arnold (19th), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (20th), Heung-Min Son (22nd), Hugo Lloris (23rd) and Georginio Wijnaldum (26th) were the other Premier League players to make the top 30.

USA international Megan Rapinoe has won the 2019 Women’s Ballon d’Or after playing a starring role in her country’s World Cup triumph.

England’s Lucy Bronze and the USA’s Alex Morgan finished second and third respectively.

Juventus and Holland defender Matthijs de Ligt won the 2019 Kopa Trophy winner, with Jadon Sancho finishing second and João Félix coming third.

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson has won the 2019 Yachine Trophy, seeing off the competition of Barcelona ‘keeper Marc-André ter Stegen and compatriot Ederson to claim the inaugural goalkeeping award.